Built for the Hunt
The Château was the Baron's commission — built to receive Parisian society for the chase. He engaged the architect Gabriel-Hippolyte Destailleur, who had already built a château for his half-brother, the Duke of Massa. Destailleur presented his first plans in August 1885, and by 1887 the final plan was established; the entrepreneur contractor Desabres de Bourges was selected to lead the construction site of the neo-Gothic and Renaissance building. The work, commissioned by Baron Eugène Roger, lasted six years, completed in 1893.
His son, Walter, later added the entrance guard house, with the grounds laid out by the landscape architect Henri Duchêne, who planted the fifty hectares of park that still surround the Château today.